

Marathwada Legal & General Education Society's MANIKCHAND PAHADE LAW COLLEGE, AURANGABAD NAAC Re-accredited with B+ Grade (2019) <u>Report of XXI National Moot Court Competition</u> <u>2020-21</u>

In this academic year, our college has Planned XXI National Moot Court Competition in Feb.2021 but due to COVID 19 it was postponed and rescheduled in online mode in August 2021.Report of the same is as follows:

Dates of the competition:

Every year we conduct this competition in two rounds i.e. preliminary and final. This year competition was held on $28^{\text{th}} \& 29^{\text{th}}$ August 2021. The said dates were already determined in the meeting of the staff.

Moot Court problems:

This year we received eight problems which were then sent to selection committee consisting of Hon'ble retired judge of High Court and leading practitioners in Aurangabad. Selection committee had selected two problems for preliminary and final round which were drafted by Mr.Adit Ved, Nagpur and Ms.Anjana Haridas,Faculty of Law,KMCT Law College, Kerala rpectively.

Registered and participated team:

Total fourteen teams have registered for this competition. The details of the participated teams are given below:

- 1. G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P
- 2. University Of Petroleum & Energy Studies, School Of Law, Dehradun
- 3. Manikchand Pahade Law College, Aurangabad, Maharashtra
- 4. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar, Gujrat
- 5. School Of Excellence In Law, Chennai
- 6. New Law College, Ahmednagar, Maharashtra
- 7. Des Navalmal Firodia Law College, Pune, Maharashtra
- 8. Faculty Of Law, Banasthali Vidyapith, Newai, Rajasthan
- 9. Dr.Ambedkar College Of Law, Nagsenvana Aurangabad, Maharashtra
- 10.Faculty Of Law, Jamia Millia Islamia, Okhla, New Delhi
- 11. Rajiv Gandhi National University Of Law, Patiala, Punjab
- 12. Mvps Law College, Nasik, Maharashtra
- 13. Symbiosis Law School, Pune, Maharashtra
- 14. Rizvi Law College, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Mode of the competition:

Like every year this year also competition was conducted in two rounds i.e. Preliminary and Final Round. In both these rounds one speaker from a team has to argue against the speaker of another team. It means it was not a competition as team but as an individual.

Preliminary round:

Preliminary round was conducted in college building. For this round three court halls were arranged and in two court hall five and in one court hall four teams with unique code were distributed by drawing the lots. Each court hall was consisting of two judges. The judges are the leading legal practitioners in Aurangabad. This round held on 28th August 2021. Names of the judges for preliminary round are as follows:

1. Adv Anjali Dube

2.Adv Rajendra Godbole

3. Adv Ajit Kadethankar

4. Adv P.R. Kanteshwarkar

5.Adv Sanjiv Deshpande

6. Adv Shailesh Brahame

The list of the allotment of the court halls to teams have been enclosed herewith.

Result of Preliminary Round:

As a rule only five teams who secured highest marks can qualify for final round. After calculating the total following five teams qualified for final rounds:

- 1. MP-01: G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P
- 2. MP-07: D.E.S. Shri Navalmal Firodia Law College, Pune.
- 3. MP-08: Faculty Of Law, Banasthali Vidyapith, Newai, Rajasthan
- 4. MP-10: Faculty Of Law, Jamia Millia Islamia, Okhla, New Delhi
- 5. MP-14: Rizvi Law College, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Final round:

The final round was held on 29th August 2021. The final round also held in college building. The Hon'ble Judges for the final round were,

1. Hon'ble Shree Justice V.G.Bisht

Judge, High Court of Judicature of Bombay Bench at Aurangabad.

2. Hon'ble Shree Justice R.M.Borde

Former Judge, High Court of Judicature at Bombay .

Declaration of result:

As we had communicated to students that they will be invited for valedictory function and distribution of trophies as and when restrictions of covide 19 removed immediately after completion of final round we declared results. It was announced by Dr. C. M. Rao, Principal , M.P.Law College, Aurangabad.Coordinator Mr.Abhay Jadhav expressed vote of thanks to all participants.All faculty members were also present for this event.

Announcement of result and list of prizes:

Winner Prize:

The winner prize was consisting of 7000 Rs. cash from M P Law College and a Trophy in the memory of late Adv S A Deshmukh sponsored by Adv Rajendra Deshmukh and Adv Avinash Deshmukh. The winner team was -**MP-01: G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P**

Runner up Prize:

The runner up prize was consisting of 5000 Rs. cash from M P Law College and a Trophy in the memory of late Adv S A Deshmukh sponsored by Adv Rajendra Deshmukh and Adv Avinash Deshmukh. The winner team was -**MP-07: D.E.S. Navalmal Firodia Law College, Pune, Maharashtra**

Best Mooter Prize (From Both Rounds):

The Best Mooter Prize was consisting of Trophy in the memory of late adv S A Deshmukh sponsored by adv Rajendra Deshmukh and Adv Avinash Deshmukh and is given to one who secured highest marks in both rounds. The winner was-

MP-01.P : Mr Tufel Sharif, G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P

Best Petitioner Prize(From Final Round):

The best petitioner prize to one who secured highest individual marks in final round as a petitioner was consisting of 2000 Rs cash from M P Law College and a Trophy in the memory of late Adv L N Sirsamkar sponsored by Shri Promode Sirsamkar. The winner was-

MP-14.P : Mr Sanjay Maji, Rizvi Law College, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Best Respondent Prize(From Final Round):

The best respondent prize to one who secured highest individual marks in final round as a respondent was consisting of 2000 Rs cash and a Trophy from M P Law College. The winner was-

MP-01.R :Ms Riddhi Wasu, G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P

Best Mooter Prize(From Preliminary Round):

The Best Mooter Prize to one who secured highest individual marks in preliminary round was consisting of a Trophy by Ghate Foundation Aurangabad. The winner was-

MP-01.P :Tufel Sharif, G.H. Raisoni University School Of Law, Saikheda, M.P

Best Memorial Prize(From Final Round):

The winner was-

MP-14.P: Mustafa Maimoon, Rizvi Law College, Mumbai, Maharashtra MP-10 P: Mohd.Ayan, Faculty Of Law, Jamia Millia Islamia, Okhla, New Delhi

MP-07 R:Deeksha Dev Singh, DES. Navalmal Firodia Law College, Pune, Maharashtra